skip to main content

Important: Reopening Plan

Reopening_Plan.png thumbnail176634

Click this link to access the Amityville Union Free School District Reopening Plan. 


Middle School Virtual Title I/ENL Parent Meeting

Edmund W. Miles Middle School will hold it's virtual Title 1/ENL Informational Night on Wednesday, Sept. 23 at 6 p.m.

To access it via Google Meet, visit:

A Test of Strength for STEAM Students

Students Building Towers thumbnail176631
Students Building Towers thumbnail176632
Eighth graders were hard at work on their first challenge of the year in Natasha Lim’s STEAM class at Edmund W. Miles Middle School on Sept. 21. After doing research on structural engineering, each student then had to build a tower at least 18 inches tall that could support the weight of a baseball. Their only supplies were newspapers and tape. They learned about different engineering principles and the process followed by professional engineers.

AMHS Open House Tonight

AMHS Open House Tonight

Expanded Pre-K Program Debuts at Northeast

Pre-K Students thumbnail176562
Teacher With Aide and Students thumbnail176563
First Day of Pre-K thumbnail176564
Art Teacher With Student thumbnail176559
First Day of Pre-K thumbnail176560
Teacher and Students thumbnail176561
Amityville’s new full-day pre-kindergarten program officially launched on Sept. 16, as teachers and support staff welcomed children to Northeast Elementary School.

As a result of the grade reconfiguration this summer, kindergarten classes moved to Northwest Elementary School, and Northeast became an early childhood education center. There are 10 full-day pre-K classes, with about 120 students enrolled in the program. 

On the first day, teachers welcomed their first group of students, gave them tours of the school, reviewed classroom rules and health and safety protocols and read stories in the garden. Children were all given individual boxes of supplies and materials with items such as blocks, crayons and Play-Doh.

Principal Dr. Pauline Collins visited the classrooms throughout the day and introduced herself to Amityville’s youngest students. She said that the expansion of pre-K to six hours per day will be a tremendous benefit for children, noting how much development takes place between birth and age 5. 

“This is a great opportunity for the children,” Dr. Collins said. “We can give them the time they need to become engaged in learning and socialization and build up their skills.”

Dr. Collins said that independent exploration is an important part of the pre-K program where children learn to play and learn through play. Classrooms have been designed with centers that foster curiosity, discovery and interaction with their peers. While those interactions will be different this year due to health and safety protocols during the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Collins said that pre-K will still be a meaningful and productive year in their development.

“We will find safe ways for them to do it,” Dr. Collins said.

Children are required to wear masks, but will have supervised mask breaks with social distancing practiced during those times. Art, music and physical education classes for now are being held in the pre-K classrooms. 
Thursday, September 24, 2020